Good Days and Gratitude

I have a tendency to be the kind of person that is always looking toward something else, and not focusing on the present moment.  At work, I’m likely going to be the one to say, “I can’t wait until Friday.”  This week, however, I am trying not to do that, and I am finding that I’m having more good days because of it.

And for that, I am thankful to God.  I have been finding that the more I focus on the present, the more I can enjoy life.  Sure, the present isn’t always perfect—there is always some sort of stressor around whether it has to do with family, friends or work—but there also blessing and joys around each day as well.  It’s easy for me to focus on the stressors and forget everything else, and therefore, wish for days ahead that I assume will be better.

But is that really a good way to live?  Tomorrow could be a better day, or it could be the same, or it even could be a worse day than today, and by wishing my life away waiting for another time, I find that I am not living my life the way God intended me to live it.  I feel that instead, God wants us to be in the moment, and live with wonder, joy and happiness as much as possible.

For the past few months, I have been reading parts of the Bible, and am currently reading St. Paul’s Letter to the Corinthians.  And there was one quote in a recent chapter that really has been on my mind this week.  It is from Chapter 9: 26 “Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air.” Even if life is a race or a fight, I am going to try to focus on each step, each breath and each metaphorical punch to make them all count.

Leave a Reply

