What if Now is Not the Time?

After I wrote yesterday about trying to live in the present moment, someone who read the post asked me the following question: “What if the present is not that great?”  It’s a good question, and one that I couldn’t let go of as I got home at night and really thought about it.

 

It’s true, that sometimes it is difficult to focus on the present because the present, is, well, difficult. I know how that feels.  I currently find that I am in a particularly stressful situation where the only solution is to live day by day, and sometimes hour by hour, to feel like I am going to make it through.  Perhaps you are going through the same thing.  Maybe its family drama, or a divorce, or troubles at work, or even sickness, that make each day a hard one, if not a bad one. 

 

I would like to share with you, and with this reader in particular, what works for me, and it is something that takes a great deal of effort. I try to focus only on those people, those things and tasks that are right before me.  And with those, I try to concentrate on the positives and eliminate any ruminations that are negative or cause my mind to wander to unwanted territory.

 

There is a Psalm that says, “Trust in Him at all times, O people, pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us” (Psalm 62:8).  I like this passage because it reminds us to give God all of our heart—the good, the bad, the ugly—and to look at him not as a solution to our problems, but a help and a refuge. He is there for us, he knows what it is like to suffer, and he wants us to rest in Him. 

 

What do you think of the above reflection?  Do you find it hard to focus on the present as well?  What helps you make it through each day?  Please share! 

One thought on “What if Now is Not the Time?”

  1. lovely response.

    i’m actually pretty good and focusing on the present. however, at times like i’m experiencing right now when things are really challenging (it too many ways) it becomes hard to see the good in anything. this coming from a very positive, half full gal. but i trust, and pray even harder for strength to see me through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

