Wisdom From Strangers

This morning, as I was riding up to the offices of Catholic New York, a stranger in the elevator turned to me and said, “It’s beautiful out there, that’s a sign of better things to come.” To which I replied, “I hope so.” He merely smiled as he got out at his floor.

I couldn’t help but think that perhaps he was right.  Not because the weather is getting better, but because, as one of my favorite quotes from the Bible says, God has a plan for us, “plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11).  The reminder of that this morning was a good way to start the day.  After what has seemed like a long winter, both in the literal sense, and metaphorically for me, in the spiritual sense, I am ready for spring and the new life it brings.

Sometimes, we have to be open to the signs from God, even if they come from random places—the words from a stranger, a bumper sticker on a car, or even a random item in a store that reminds you of the good things in life.  When I am in a depressed or sad mood, which a friend of mine refers to as “painting the room blue,” it is often hard to recall happier times and remind myself that things were happier, better or easier than they are now, and that there is the possibility for those times to return again.  In other words—hope.

Today, I will try to remember the words of this stranger, and say a thank you to him, and to God, for reminding me that no matter what struggles or obstacles come in our way, there is always the possibility for hope.

 Have you had a recent experience like mine?  Please share! 

One thought on “Wisdom From Strangers”

  1. Romans 8:24-25. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience. I believe that we are reminded to never give up hope and to be patient because all things come to those who wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

