Happy Feast Day of St. Joseph the Worker

The first day of May, traditionally celebrated at the month of Mary, begins with the Feast Day of St. Joseph the Worker. I think that it is quite fitting that the month of the Blessed Mother starts with a day in honor of her husband. 

St. Joseph is my favorite of the saints. His dedication to family and work is one that I admire. I have often prayed to him for family and friends to find work or get through tough times at work. In the Bible, St. Joseph is a man of no words—he is not quoted in any of the Gospel stories.  However, his character comes through loud and clear through his actions as the foster father of Jesus, and the protector of the family.  Perhaps that is why I admire him so much: he was a man of action, and how one acts as opposed to what one says tells a lot about a person’s character.

When I pray to him, I often picture him listening to me as I vent about any work or family related frustrations.  In one way or another, I know that my prayers through him to God will be answered. 

I have on my desk at work a prayer card for St. Joseph, and on it is a prayer from Pope Pius XII. On a beautifully sunny day like today, it is hard to keep my mind fixed on work. Perhaps for others reading this blog, the day is hard because you are out of work, or at a job that you don’t love.

In any of those instances, there is a prayer that is fitting on the back of my prayer card, part of which I’d like to share: “Obtain for us  from our Lord, O beloved protector, humility and simplicity of heart, attachment to work, benevolence towards those who work with us, compliance with the divine will in the difficulties of this life and joy in bearing them…”

 There are many other prayers and novenas to this special saint. If you know of any or would like to share a St. Joseph story, please comment below! 

2 thoughts on “Happy Feast Day of St. Joseph the Worker”

  1. St. Joseph Prayer Selling

    St. Joseph, protect our home. Pour forth from heaven blessings on our family. Remain in our midst. Help us to live in love and harmony, in peace and joy. May the wholesome fear of God strengthen us that virtue may adorn what we do and our way may lead to heaven.

    To you this day I give the key to our dwelling place. Lock out all things that could do us harm. Lock my home and my loved ones with me in the hearts of Jesus and Mary. This I beg of you, that our days may be like your days in the holy home at Nazareth. Amen.

    O Blessed St. Joseph, tenderhearted father, faithful guardian of Jesus, chaste spouse of the Mother of God, I pray you to join with me in praising God the Father through his divine Son who died on the cross and rose again to give us sinners new life. Through the holy Name of Jesus, pray that we may obtain from the eternal Father the favor we ask for is our home sale.

    We have been unfaithful to the unfailing love of God the Father; beg of Jesus mercy for us his brothers and sisters. Amid the splendors of God’s loving presence, do not forget the sorrows of whose who weep. By your prayers and those of your most holy spouse, our blessed Lady, may the love of Jesus answer our call of confident hope.
    Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

