What Would Jesus Tweet?

The past several weeks, I have been spending a great deal of time on Twitter, both for Catholic New York and on my own personal page where I have found so many inspirational stories and messages that help me each and every day.

 It made me think that if Jesus were around today, he would totally be into Twitter.  The social media tool is a wonderful way to connect with others in a community based on similar interests. It’s also a great way to stay on top of news and events in your local community. And it’s a wonderful way to share messages of faith and hope.

But for me, I have found the greatest blessing to be the amount of inspiration I get from people who post messages and stories about their own personal lives, or quotes that are meant to uplift people in a world where many messages bring you down.

Today, for example, in my online adventures, I came across this beautiful quote from Thomas a Kempis, a late medieval writer best known for his book, The Imitation of Christ.  The quote was this: “If you carry your cross joyfully, it will carry you.”  It was the perfect message for me and I’d like to share why. Oftentimes I forget that we can choose to respond to our struggles with a sense of hope, and even though it is often hard, even happiness and joy, especially when we remember that Jesus went through his own struggles too.  It’s a message I hope to carry with me for the rest of the day.

 

Have any of you found sources of inspiration online? 

 Also, if you are interested, you can follow Catholic New York newspaper @Catholic_NY.

You can also follow me @JulieDosSantos6. 

Leave a Reply

