Faith From the Sidelines

Yesterday, a work friend and I went to see a baseball game at Yankee Stadium, with our wife and husband, respectively. There may not seem to be anything unusual about that—but we were both there rooting for one particular player from the opposing team decked out in shirts that bore his name and definitely stood out from the crowd.

ImageThe day was a perfect one for a ball game, and besides for a few dirty looks and a few quizzical expressions on some of the fans who were there cheering on the Yankees, a good time was had by all.  We were there to watch knuckleball pitcher R.A. Dickey in action, after both of us read his book last summer. From the start, I found his story to be one of inspiration in overcoming difficult obstacles both in his personal and professional life.  In his own life, he suffered from sexual abuse; and in his professional life, he had to find his place as a knuckleball pitcher and an older player.

His story is one of hope.

Seeing him play had been one of my goals since I first read his book.  But, going through some difficulties of my own last spring, I missed the final games he pitched when he was on the Mets because I was in the hospital. Even though his team lost the game, he’s a winner to me.

Ever since I read his book, he has been a hero of mine.  As a Christian, he explained in his book how he found his faith and overcame his past.  Something anyone could be proud of.

Is there anyone that you admire?  If so, why?  Please share!

2 thoughts on “Faith From the Sidelines”

  1. I must say that I too admire my child who has been struggling to overcome difficulties but knowing that there are people like this ball player who inspires others and helps enkindle the faith I know the strength to combat this difficult battle will be won. I am very proud of my child knowing this and that following examples like this will help lighten the cross.

    Like

  2. Wearing your “battle armor” into the heart of enemy territory…! If that doesn’t prove your sense of loyalty, I don’t know what does!

    Like

Leave a Reply

