Gifts From God

Today Pope Francis tweeted a message to young people saying, “Do not bury your talents, the gifts that God has given you!” That message is true for people of all ages.  God has given us each talents.

As St. Paul says in his letter to the Romans, “In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well” (Romans 12:6). We have all heard it said that everyone has different talents and gifts and that we are all unique and special in some way.  Even though I have heard that message time and time again, it wasn’t until I reached my late 20s that I realized that to be true, and it wasn’t until I was into my 30s that it really sunk into my being.

I came into my career later in life than some people. And by career, I mean a job that utilized the talents that God had given to me. During high school and college, and even shortly after college, I floated around from job to job trying to find my path in life.  It wasn’t until I landed at my current position as a newspaper reporter with Catholic New York that I felt like I found my “calling.”

Earlier in life, I did not realize right away that finding a use for your God-given talents brings true happiness. I thought jobs were merely a means to an end.  Sometimes, I realize, that jobs have to be just that—a way of surviving.  But at this point in my life I am fortunate enough to have found a way to do more than survive.

The other day, I was assigned to write an article on the High School Senior Mass.  During that Mass, Cardinal Dolan told the young people “Your life is a continual journey back to Him.”  Now I have found that God has prepared me for that journey by giving me gifts to get back to Him, and he has done the same for all of us.

What gifts has God given you to share with the world?  Please share!

Leave a Reply

