Struggles and Strength

How do you react when you come face to face with a situation that causes you pain or suffering? 

Today I came across a quote on Twitter that said, “Consider it a pure joy whenever you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance” (James 1:2).

Could that be true?  Can we look at the suffering in our lives and see them as anything but painful?  I have found in my own life that sometimes it is hard to, or we may not even want to, call on God for help.  But when there are times of pain and real suffering, at some point we have to deal with it.  At times of suffering and trials I find that those are the times I question God, or don’t understand why he would allow such things to occur.

When I saw the quote, at first I thought, “God, I don’t need any more perseverance, all I want is for my struggles to go away!”  But when I thought about the quote more, I realized that times of suffering allow us a way to really grow in how we react.  Do I turn towards God and ask him for help?  Or do I throw my hands up and give in to the struggles and allow them to take over my life?  To be honest, there are some days when I do both.  And I have found that when I “lean in to God” as one of my friends often advises me to do, I find both a respite from my struggles, especially when I think of Christ on the Cross, and know that even Jesus had to struggle and suffer. Jesus knows and understands exactly what we are going through.  And that gives me strength to go on.

What do you think of the quote?  How do you react when you are faced with trials in your life?

2 thoughts on “Struggles and Strength”

  1. I have never thought of my struggles as “pure joy” but I find, when I am at the end of my rope, that prayer gives me a moment to stop and refocus and be open to receive Grace. There is a certain hopeful calm when you know that you are never truly alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

