Good Friday Reflections

Today is Good Friday – the day that Jesus died for our sins. It is a reverent day, and one that always brings with it sadness and contemplation.  For me, it is a day of recollection.  A day to remember my sins and the reason Jesus died for them.  It is also a time when I try to look forward to Easter and the Resurrection.  We are lucky in a way that the apostles were not.  We know that the Resurrection is coming.  But has there been a time in your life when you didn’t realize that happiness and joy were coming?  When all the minutes, hours, and days of your life feel like Good Friday?

For me, there have been many days like that, and sometimes if I’m not careful, I still suffer from that feeling—the unexplainable sadness and feeling that things will not get better.  But thankfully, faith brings with it hope.  Hope for the future and better days.  Hope for our own type of Resurrection.

For a long time, I couldn’t see the light. I was away from God because I thought that God had abandond me. I didn’t think I could bear my cross any longer.

We all have such crosses.

We may think that Jesus is far apart, and not even realize when he is right there calling us.  And those moments when he appears in our life may feel too brief.  But they are there long enough for us to realize that he loves us.  It could be something simple, like a moment of happiness brought by spending time with a friend, or when someone says something that I need to hear.  They may not seem like much at the time, but when we look back, we can see the love that God has for us in them.

So on this Good Friday, when the world is in darkness, think of your pain.  Think of your cross, and then think of Jesus who died for us.  And remember, that this is the biggest act of love, and soon, it will bring with it hope.

 

 

 

One thought on “Good Friday Reflections”

  1. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand so much approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I believe that you just could do with some percent to force the message home a bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

