Prayer Practice?

Yesterday, I was attending an event for a news story for Catholic New York regarding a group of young adults who are involved in evangelization. One young woman told her story of how she came to grow in her faith. Something she said struck a chord in me.  She said, that there was a time when she didn’t know how to pray.

During the past few months, as I have been focusing on my own prayer life, I, too, have felt as if I don’t know how to pray.  It may seem ironic that something as simple as talking to God can be confusing – but at times it is.  Is there a right way to pray?  A wrong way? A better way?  How am I supposed to feel and what am I supposed to think about? 

All of those questions and more floated through my mind during my prayer struggles.  So when I was reading a Bible passage as part of a study with a friend, and I came across this passage earlier this week, I thought I would share it with any of you who may also be wondering about prayer.  The quote is from St. Paul’s Letter to the Romans, and it says, “When we don’t know what to pray for, the Spirit prays for us in ways that cannot be put into words” (8:26).

I have found this to be true in my life.  Through sighs, tears and even laughter, I feel sometimes as if I am praying in ways that cannot be put into words.  I feel that these prayers are okay when it is hard to express myself to God.  He knows our thoughts and our feelings, and he knows what we want to say, even if we can’t form the words. 

Have you found different ways to pray—through writing, or song, or any other form?  Please share with the rest of the readers! 

Leave a Reply

