Can You Hear Me Now?

This week, my parish held a mission at the church each night after work.  I was not going to attend, until my good Catholic friend urged me to give it a shot.  For a variety of reasons, getting up the motivation to go was no easy task. Perhaps you are the same when it comes to matters of the faith. There are always reasons that come up to put faith-based activities to the side.

I admit, I didn’t attend each night of the mission, but last night, there was a healing service delivered by a wonderful priest.  My husband and I arrived late, and quietly snuck in a pew in the back of the church.  Just for a little background information – I have been suffering the past few years, and most particularly the past few months as its gotten worse, with a stomach condition that makes digesting food difficult and painful. For the past few months in particular, my diet has been limited and bland, to say the least.  So when I sat down and almost immediately heard the priest say that all we need is the nourishment provided by God in the form of the Eucharist, I nearly had the breath knocked out of me.

I’m sure you all have been through similar situations, in which you find yourself questioning your faith when difficulties arise, and asking the tough questions as to what it all means for your life.  As I sat there and listened to the rest of the sermon, which focused on the beauty of the Eucharist, I felt as if God were saying, “Can you hear me now?”  Yesterday, at the healing service, perhaps I wasn’t healed physically, but the spiritual strength I received was well worth it.

Have you had a similar experience in which your faith has helped you through a difficult situation?

One thought on “Can You Hear Me Now?”

  1. A beautiful reflection I’m sure many can relate to, each in their own way. God calls us over and over. The response is up to us. Bless your friend for the encouragement, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

