Be Careful of the Overpass

On this cold, yet sunny Monday morning, I woke up ready for the day ahead. The bright blue day was a welcome change from the overcast, dreary weather New York has been afflicted with the past few weeks.  As my husband and I drove into the city, my thoughts were focused on keeping my attitude positive—not an easy task for the first day of the week.

Then we hit traffic.  Further along the road, we realized that the delay was cause by a truck that was stuck under an overpass.  The truck was really wedged in there, and the unlucky driver was outside of his vehicle letting the air out of his tires while he waited for help to arrive. I felt bad for the driver, and could sympathize with his dilemma. 

It’s easy to get stuck in tight situations and feel like there is no way out.  I can’t say for sure but I’d bet that truck driver felt that way this morning. I was happy when I saw flashing lights in the rearview mirror, and knew that soon the truck would be freed.

I really believe that it was no coincidence when after lunch today I read an article on a Catholic news site that quoted Pope Benedict XVI after his Lenten retreat. In the article, the pope said, “Often we find ourselves in a dark tunnel in the middle of the night, but through faith we see a light at the end and hear beautiful music, perceiving the beauty of God.”

It’s a good way to think about life, especially during Lent.  Sure, we may be suffering and making sacrifices now, but soon it will be Easter.

What do you think of what the pope said about faith getting people through dark times?  Please share your thoughts here! 

Leave a Reply

