Patron of the Printed Page

Today is the feast day of St. Francis de Sales, the patron saint of journalists.  Working for a Catholic newspaper, today is kind of a big deal.

I do like to pray to particular saints for specific causes. I have a prayer card for St. Francis de Sales posted in my cube wall at work.  Every time I am stuck with finding the right words for an article, I say a quick prayer to this special saint.  He hears from me quite often.

This morning, the editor of Catholic New York posted a prayer by St. Francis de Sales in the newsroom for my coworkers and I to read.  There was one line in the prayer that I especially liked and wanted to share.  “Do not fear what may happen tomorrow; the same everlasting Father who cares for you today will take care of you then and everyday.”  It’s a comforting thought.

Do you have any favorite quotes by St. Francis de Sales?  Or perhaps a quote or prayer from one of your favorite saints?  Please share!

2 thoughts on “Patron of the Printed Page”

  1. That’s a great quote! And it reminds me that no matter how many trials you are faced with today, tomorrow brings a new day with new possibilities and most importantly a new day full of hope and faith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

