Special Remembrances

Sometimes the memories of loved ones who have gone before us come flooding back. Perhaps a particular image, or place, or anniversary date prompts the recollections. For me, today was one of those days – my father’s birthday.

           

It wasn’t until I was reading an article online that I realized the significance of today’s date.  Once I did, however, all the good thoughts and memories of my dad swirled through my mind. As usual on this date, I felt a few tears building and went to grab a tissue from the pack on my desk.  When I looked down at the tissue package, I saw the image of a snowman smiling up at me, his hands waving.  Christmas always reminds me of my father, and in particular, the smiling faces of snowmen, which were his favorite. I knew in that instant that my father was looking down on me from heaven.

 

Even though the details of heaven are unknown, I like to imagine it in my mind based on a particular quote from Jesus: “In my Father’s house are many dwelling places.” Perhaps because of my Italian background, I like to think that place includes a large table for all of our loved ones. I can just imagine the birthday celebrations going on!  

 

Are there any images or places that remind you of your loved ones?  Please feel free to share. 

One thought on “Special Remembrances”

Leave a Reply

