Christmas Traditions

This morning, I was talking with a co-worker about the different things that we each do during the Christmas season.  Even though there are so many ways to mark each Christmas, I must admit, the tradition that first popped into my mind was my annual watching of the movie “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

This is not the most important of the ways that I prepare for Christmas Day, but it is one that I look forward to each year.  Generally, when I find a movie that I enjoy, I will watch it countless times, often in a row for long stretches of time. This movie, however, I only watch once a year so that I can fully feel the emotions that I know will come as I once again take to heart the message of thankfulness that the movie portrays.

I have yet to watch it this year, but look forward to when I can catch a moment of time in this busy season to do so.  I am hoping that like past years, once I do, my attention will remain on all the wonderful things in my life.

Do you have any traditions – spiritual or otherwise – that you look forward to, and that help you prepare for Christmas Day? Please share!

Leave a Reply

