Can He Play and Pray?

Tim Tebow, quarterback for the Denver Broncos, has been getting a lot of press lately.  Not because the team has won four games in a row since he replaced the starting quarterback. Or for the five out of six wins the team has had. Even though both are true. It’s mostly because after the team scores a touchdown, he kneels in prayer.

A few days ago, my brother asked me when I would write about the “Tebow kneel.”  At the time, I had heard a bit about Tim Tebow and his faith, but not much else.  After doing some research on him, I realized that there are quite a few different types of articles on this player.  I was surprised to see how many articles are negative towards this simple act of prayer and gratitude.

Here is a good player, who is not ashamed of his faith, and in fact, is proud to show it. I think he sets a good example.  I’ve included a short video below of people who feel the same.

What do you think of Tim Tebow and the press he has been receiving?  Please share your thoughts here!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Can He Play and Pray?”

  1. I think an issue with Tebow is how he kind of wears it on his sleeve. I don’t mind Tebow but it annoys me when football players, seemingly more than other athletes superficially attribute, victories, touchdowns etc to God. I am currently reading an excellent book about Vince Lombardi, “When Pride Still Mattered,” and it talks a great deal about his faith. But Lombardi didn’t proclaim it loudly or brashly. He believed faith was on a whole different level than who wins a football game, and so do I. Lombardi was a man of great faith, but he didn’t wear it on his sleeve.

    Like

  2. I have a problem with Ron’s comment, I don’t believe that a five second kneel down in the endzone after a touchdown is wearing it on your sleeve. Would you rather him do a thirty second “act” in which the scoring player mocks an opposing player who shot himself in the leg a few years back? I am not saying that I am a fan of Tebow, because I am not. I do however feel that his kneel down,just like the thirty second act is a non issue during the course of a football game, unless you choose to make it one.

    Like

    1. He doesn’t get any support from ownership,coaches,media,or analysts. The only support he gets is from his teammates and HIS FAITH. He is not hurting anyone or showing anyone up. So I say let him play and pray. If you disagree with his kneel down, after he scores a TD it might be a good time to change channel and check other scores.

      Like

Leave a Reply

