Practice Makes Perfect

Anyone who knows me knows that I love homework.  So, this past weekend, when the new translations for the Mass went into effect, I thought that I would be thoroughly prepared.  I walked into Mass with a handy cheat-sheet, as it were, with the changed words on it. And yet, like many people in my parish, I found myself responding incorrectly.

When, at the end of Mass I asked my pastor if the parish had passed, he laughingly said that it might take some time for everyone to get used to the new wording. I think that is to be expected.  I have to admit, I was more excited than usual to go to Mass this weekend to try out the new responses. I thought for sure that I would not like them.

I thought I would feel detached from the response “and with your spirit” and flub over the change in the Nicene Creed to “consubstantial with the Father.” But I didn’t.  Instead, I found myself paying attention more to what I was saying, and thinking more about what the words meant.  Before communion, I felt a little pang of longing for the old response. But, after some time in thought, I couldn’t help but admire the poetic beauty of the response, “Lord I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.”

What did you think of the new translation?  Please share your thoughts here!

Leave a Reply

