Feast of All Saints

Each day, I receive an email about the life of a saint whose feast day is being celebrated on that particular date. Today, on the Feast of All Saints, I read about the fascinating history of today’s celebration in honor of all the saints.

Sometimes it is easy to overlook the feast days and celebrations that have become familiar to us.  That is why I like receiving my daily “Saint of the Day” emails about the saints.  There is always something new to learn about our faith.  Today, I learned that below the Pantheon in Rome are the bones (according to the American Catholic email, there are some 28 wagonloads there) of those who were buried in the catacombs. Pope Boniface IV reinterred them there since the catacombs were being plundered so much during the seventh century.

I was fortunate enough to have the chance to visit the Pantheon with my husband on our honeymoon.  I knew a bit about the history of the building, and knew that at one time it was a pagan temple, and that it is now a Catholic church. However, I had no idea that below my feet was the remains of those of days gone by!

Are there any particular stories of saints that you find particularly interesting or inspiring that you would like to share?  Please do so in the comments below!

If you are interested in subscribing to the “Saint of the Day” emails visit www.americancatholic.org.

Leave a Reply

