Picking Up a Life Lesson

After work yesterday, I thought that I would quickly run and pick up a few sandwiches for dinner instead of cooking. As I was walking down 56th Street, however, an older gentleman fell on the sidewalk and couldn’t pick himself up.
Immediately, I and two other women ran over to help him. I put my arms underneath his from behind and lifted as the two other women grabbed his arms and pulled him up. After he braced himself, we all went our separate ways.  The experience reminded me of how nice it feels to do something for others. I walked away, perhaps more lifted in spirit than the gentleman we helped.
I also realized that without all three of us strangers working together, we wouldn’t have been able to lift the man on our own.  It was a lovely life lesson.  There are so many times in our lives where we need the help of others in some way–-physically, emotionally or spiritually.
Have you ever been in a similar situation?  Please share!

One thought on “Picking Up a Life Lesson”

Leave a Reply

