‘The Way’

A few weeks ago, as I was checking my email at work, I saw a notice regarding an upcoming movie called “The Way.” When I read the email and saw that the movie was about a man’s pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago, I knew that I would have to go see it.

I am sure that you all have places that you would like to visit and things you would like to do in your lifetime. For me, on the top of that list is traveling part of the Camino de Santiago (The Way of St. James). For those of you who may not know what that it, it is a pilgrimage trail that begins in France and goes through the Pyrenees, ending at the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, which is believed to hold the remains of St. James.

After watching the movie yesterday with my husband, my desire to walk part of “The Way” is even stronger.  The movie stars Martin Sheen, who plays an American doctor who travels to France to pick up the remains of his son (played by Emilio Estevez) who died along the pilgrimage trail. Martin Sheen’s character decides to walk the pilgrimage in honor of his son. It’s an amazing movie with beautiful cinematography and an even more beautiful message.

I just wanted to share one of my favorite quotes of the movie: In one scene, Emilio Estevez’s character tells his father, “You don’t choose a life, dad. You live one.”

Have you seen the movie?  If so, what were your impressions?  Or is there a particular religious place that you would like to see in your lifetime?  Please share!

2 thoughts on “‘The Way’”

  1. From when I was little and heard the story of Fatima I had always wanted to go there. I was lucky enough to have that chance with two wonderful people and their family. It was breathtaking to me I will cherish it forever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

