Reading Between the Lines

I was at the bookstore the other night searching for a gift for a friend’s baby.  I wanted to get something religious-themed and came across a nicely done children’s book on the lives of the saints that I thought would be perfect.  As I went up to the register, I received far more than the necessary change for the book that I purchased.

The bookseller looked at my purchase, and then asked me if I knew what saint’s feast day it was.  Even though I had read my “saint of the day” email in the morning, the particulars of which saint was being celebrated skipped my mind.  He told me that it was the Feast Day of St. Faustina and followed up immediately by asking if I read the diary she had published.  I have written on this blog before about how God oftentimes surprises me with encounters like this in which I feel he is speaking to me through the people I run into in my life. This was another one of those moments.

I had recently been searching for an autobiography or biography to read and couldn’t decide on one.  I knew after speaking with the bookseller that I had found the one I should read next. We spoke for a few more moments about faith and spirituality, and he told me more about the life of St. Faustina, who is known for sharing the message of God’s Divine Mercy.

I am excited to begin reading about the life of this saint!  Have you had any encounters like this one that you would like to share?

One thought on “Reading Between the Lines”

  1. I often ask for signs that God is listening to my prayer’s, but I have come to realize is that one of the hardest things for me to do is see the signs all around me. These moments make me realize that I have to be willing to let my guard down down and so that I am able to truly see and hear God’s message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

