Saints on Speed Dial

Do you have a favorite saint?  I know it’s not right to play favorites, but I have to admit that there is a special place in my heart for St. Joseph.  For my husband and I, he has been the go-to saint since we married nearly five years ago.  This weekend, I realized how nice it is to have a particular saint on your prayer speed dial.

For a few months now, we have had our co-op apartment listed for sale.  Not much has happened. No one has called, and no one has visited to take a look at our place.  Since St. Joseph is known for his help in family and house matters, on Saturday after Mass I decided to light a candle and say a prayer to the foster father of Jesus. What happened next is something that showed me that the saints are listening. As I was lighting the candle, a fellow parishioner was asking my husband if we knew of any apartments for rent.  I don’t know if anything will come of it, but the situation made us realize that God is there for us in our lives.

I couldn’t help but feel God’s presence in the church that day, and left knowing that no matter what happens with the apartment, with the future, that there is someone on our side listening to us.

Do you have a particular story you would like to share of a situation in which you felt that your prayers were being answered?

One thought on “Saints on Speed Dial”

  1. Our “go-to-guy” is St. Jude. He hasn’t failed us yet. Last year during a particularly rough patch we decided we needed him in our home too. So we bought a really nice Santo at the gift shop at the back of our church. Now he watches over us from his spot on a small plant stand near the window!

    Like

Leave a Reply

