Spiritual Preparation

With World Youth Day less than a week away, my mind is turning to preparing for the trip.  Of course, packing the necessary items is part of the process. However, right now, I am trying to focus on spiritually preparing myself for the pilgrimage.

As I thought about my upcoming adventures in Spain, I began to think about what it means to go on a pilgrimage.  When I think of the word “pilgrimage” I only equate it with a sort of “walking tour.”  Even though there are going to be such walks during World Youth Day – I am particularly looking forward to the “Way of the Cross” through the streets of Madrid – most of the events occur in just a few locations. But that does not mean that it is not a pilgrimage. When I looked up what makes such a trip a pilgrimage, a few words kept coming up such as “spiritual journey,” and “life changing” and “seeking.” The more I research, the more excited I become for my upcoming travels.

I plan on packing my suitcase with all of the necessities for the trip. However, I am hoping that I leave myself open to the experiences that will be available.

Check back here often, as I plan to update this blog with details of the events from Madrid!

Have you gone on a pilgrimage yourself?  What was it like?  Please share!

Leave a Reply

