Following the Signs

Generally, if I am a passenger in a car, I am more interested in what is playing on the radio than in the geography and scenery around.  There are a few things, however, that I do try to look out for – including bumper stickers and personalized license plates with inspiring, or funny, sayings.

This morning, as my husband and I were on the way into Manhattan, I was in a particularly good mood.  I had a nice day off on Thursday, and was excited to discuss with my editor some of the plans for my upcoming trip to World Youth Day in Madrid.  When we passed a wall as we exited the highway that had a poster saying “Jesus, The Way, The Truth, The Life,” I took it as a sign that my day would be a good one. I like seeing symbols of faith out and about in the world in places you would not expect them.

I immediately had to take out my phone (which has a camera, of course!) and take a picture.  And when, further down the street, I saw another poster, I snapped another picture.  I have to be honest, sights like that jolt my spirit much more in the morning than my regular cup of coffee. It’s a good thing.

Have you ever been out and about in the world and come across a sign of faith that make you smile?

One thought on “Following the Signs”

Leave a Reply

