Finding God at the Fair

This past weekend, my husband and I went to a local community fair with my sister, her husband, and her family in Putnam County.  With us were two of our nephews, who were excited to try their hand at the games of chance.  Plush stuffed animals, superhero-themed toys and goldfish were just a few of the prizes offered.

Usually, at such an event, it’s easy for adults and children alike to get caught up in the idea of winning and lose focus on everything else.  Sometimes, it’s easy to forget that the whole reason you are there is to have a little fun.  For a few moments, as my nephews walked away from yet another booth empty-handed, I worried that they would soon become disappointed and turn the outing from fun into something else entirely.

However, at the last of the booths, in which they had to attempt to throw a ping-pong ball into a glass filled with water in order to win a goldfish, things changed.  Each boy was given five ping-pong balls for the game. First, the younger of the two boys won!  I felt victorious, even though I was not the one who was playing.  But my joy turned to sheer wonder when he then gave his brother, who had missed with his five chances, his remaining ping-pong balls.  Happily, his brother, too, won a prized goldfish.

The moment stuck with me.  I realized how lucky I was to witness such a simple act of generosity and kindness.  I can see why God loves little children so much!

Do you have any stories of kindness that you’d like to share?  Please feel free!

One thought on “Finding God at the Fair”

  1. Interestingly, my moment also comes from a visit to a fair, years ago. My older sister, Diane, who was about 11 or 12 at the time, won a majorette’s baton at a fair in our hometown. It was kind of cheap, wooden with sparkly wooden nobs on each end. When she brought her treasure home my uncle happened to be visiting with some of his kids, including my little cousin, about seven, who was admiring the baton greatly. My sister spontaneously gave her the baton. I remember Diane crying that night when her valued treasure was gone. I felt very bad for her, and as a selfish little boy, couldn’t figure out why she would do such a thing. My dad felt bad for her too. The next day he went out and bought her a real metal baton with rubber tips on each end. He didn’t say anything, he just did it. It was his reward for her unselfish generosity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

