Navigation System

Wouldn’t it be nice if life came with a navigation system that could tell you if you missed a turn, or are heading in the wrong direction, or even if a particular path leads to a dead end?

Like anyone, there have been times in my life where I’ve questioned the decisions that I’ve made, or if I am where I am supposed to be.  This past weekend, I watched the movie “What If…” starring Kevin Sorbo as a man who chose a financially lucrative career instead of becoming a Christian minister.  He is given a chance to live out the life that he did not choose, which includes a wife and a family.  I know, it’s not the most original of premises, but it is one that I think has an important message.

The movie reminded me that sometimes we have to stop and take a look at our lives and ask ourselves where we are going.  Sure, maybe not everyone is meant to have the kind of life like the one portrayed in the movie—not everyone is meant to marry, not all couples have children, and having a lucrative job does not automatically equate to immorality. But it is good to every once in a while ask yourself if you are living in a way that is pleasing to God.

I’m as guilty as the next person in sometimes choosing the wrong direction.  Thankfully, though, as Catholics we do have a good guide in Jesus, who is always there to help us get back on track.  We just have to choose to follow.

Leave a Reply

