Happy Fourth of July!

This weekend, we celebrate the Fourth of July.  Although fireworks are not my favorite part of the celebrations that occur this weekend, I do love seeing houses decorated, and people dressed, in red, white and blue, to showcase American pride.

I hope that my husband and I get to take part in some of the weekend barbecues and outdoor events taking place over this long weekend.  We were in a minor car accident this week (we are both okay), so we have to drop off our vehicle for repairs and that might hinder some of our plans. However, on that note, I have to share my thanks for my husband and I coming out of the accident all right. As we were sitting home, recovering and sleeping it off, the prayer taught to me in elementary school to my guardian angel kept running through my head.  For those who don’t know it, it goes like this: “Angel of God, my guardian dear. To whom God’s love entrusts me here. Ever this day, be at my side, to light and guard, rule and guide. Amen.”

It’s a small prayer, but the fact that it was one of the first things to come to mind after the accident just went to show me that my faith preparation as a child prepared me with (forgive the pun here, but I can’t resist) spiritual airbags that go off when things get rough. Have any of you had an experience that called to mind something you had learned early in your faith?  If so, please share your story here!

And have a great Fourth of July, everyone!

Leave a Reply

