The Ebb and Flow of Faith

Today is the first day of summer! Although it may not look much like summer to those of you in New York right now, particularly with the overcast sky, the new season has officially begun. For me, when I think of the word “summer” a few images come directly to mind, the first being the ocean.

Growing up, my family would always vacation at Seaside Heights on the Jersey Shore, long before Snookie and the other cast members of the show by the same name made that spot famous.  And by family, I mean my siblings, parents, cousins, aunts and uncles.  We always had a big crowd.  It was there that my love for the ocean grew among all the swimming and boogie boarding that was done. Each year since then, I try to make at least one trip to the ocean – in Jersey or another locale.

This past weekend, my husband and I took a day trip to Ocean Beach in Connecticut specifically to spend some time in the ocean water.  I can understand why Jesus chose water for baptisms, as there is something healing about immersing yourself in the water.  When I was standing in the water, watching the waves roll back and forth, I realized that faith, like life, has a particular ebb and flow.  Sometimes faith will seem to rush upon you and engulf you, and other times, it seems to flow away from you.

Using that same image, right now I feel as if my faith is in between the waves.  But that’s okay, because I know it will soon come rushing back.  When you think of faith, what kind of image comes to mind for you?

One thought on “The Ebb and Flow of Faith”

Leave a Reply

