Who Helps You Carry Your Cross?

Sometimes it feels as if 40 days is not enough time for Lent.  This morning, I realized that I had not yet spent any time looking over The Stations of the Cross.  Since Good Friday is tomorrow, I thought that I would review the stations so I could more fully appreciate these last few days of Holy Week.

Each year of elementary school, I remember students reading out loud the different Stations of the Cross in church.  As one of the shyer students, it is no wonder that even now, years later, I still recall reading the meditation on Simon helping Jesus with his cross when I was asked to read during one of the prayer services.  Perhaps that it why this particular station is still the one that touches my soul. As a child, I remember thinking that it was nice of Simon to help Jesus, although I couldn’t understand why he wouldn’t have wanted to in the first place.

As an adult, I can more fully understand how difficult it is to help someone carry his or her cross, and I’m sure that each and every one of you reading this right now has a cross to bear.  Perhaps you are in charge of caring for an elderly parent, or are entering a difficult stage of parenthood, or are dealing with issues of infertility.  Maybe you are suffering from an illness or recovering from the death of a loved one.

I know from my own life that Jesus is the one who now helps me carry my cross in life.  I take comfort when I realize he knows what it’s like to have a heavy burden.  But there are others along the way, too, who help – family, friends, co-workers.  On Good Friday, it is those people that I will be thinking of – and thanking – in my prayers.

I hope you all have a Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

