The Waiting Period

Sometimes I come into work with an idea for a blog post immediately as I sit down at the computer.  Other days, like today, I come in only to find a blank screen staring back at me. I know when the ideas don’t come easily, that I need to do a little extra work and pay particular attention to what’s going on inside my soul.

For years, I’ve heard people talk about Lent as a type of waiting period.  Honestly, though, I can’t say that I’ve really thought of it like that until now.  Usually around this time, with Easter just over a week away, I would feel anticipation, but mostly for the family celebrations, the food and the ability to enjoy those things that I had sacrificed and given up. This year, however, the excited feelings of anticipation have been replaced by a certain kind of quietness.

Maybe it’s because as I’ve gotten older, the idea of giant baskets filled with chocolate bunnies and marshmallow peeps makes me feel a little nauseous. Or maybe I’m starting, slowly, to understand or experience a new side of Lent.

Palm Sunday is this weekend, and thereafter is Holy Week.  This year, I’m going to try to take advantage of the stillness in my soul so it’s ready to be filled with the joy of Easter.

I would love to hear any suggestions you have on how you prepare for Easter.  Please share!

Leave a Reply

