The Five-Year Mark

I am a firm believer that there are “everyday miracles” occurring all the time. One of the reasons I believe in that goes back to when I interviewed for my position here at Catholic New York. Yesterday marked the five-year anniversary of when I began my career here. And the significance of that milestone was not lost on me.

My journey to Catholic New York was a long and winding one. I didn’t know when I graduated that I would want to work in journalism. I didn’t know much of what I wanted my life to be. Before I was hired here I had 12 other jobs already neatly listed on my resume. My job positions ran the gamut from those I needed to take for the money, and others I wanted to take because of the title. I worked in marketing and retail, and waitressing. I bagged groceries and made hot dogs. I quit 11 of the positions and was laid off from one.

When I was looking for a new job – one I hoped would be “the one,” I was burnt out and depressed. I didn’t know where to turn or what to try next. When the ad for a reporter came out in Catholic New York, I didn’t think that I would ever qualify. I was lost. It was actually my mother who urged me day after day to try.

I call obtaining my job title a miracle because that is how it felt when I was hired. Sure, it may sound cheesy to say that about a job, but there are times looking back where I could see God’s hand working in my life. I’m glad I took that chance and answered that ad. I’m hoping that when you feel lost, you take a chance on yourself, too.

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “The Five-Year Mark”

  1. To quote the great basketball coach Jimmy Valvano, “Don’t give up, don’t ever give up!” Thanks for taking a chance and for your Mom urging you on.

    Like

  2. I totally believe in miracles, they are real, miracles happened to me about twice, in my 16 years here at CNY. We just have to believe, and pray, prayer is power, energy and happiness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

