Groundhogs and Second Chances

What would you do if you had what seemed like an eternity to live?  That was the premise of the movie “Groundhog Day” starring Bill Murray, and on this February 2nd, I found myself thinking of that movie, and wondering what I would do if I had to live the same day over and over.

One of the things that fascinated me about Murray’s character in the movie is his evolution from a man who thinks only of himself, to one who begins to care about other people and attempts to win the love and companionship of another. Another thing that struck me about the movie is the utter despair Murray’s character feels, as he is seen trying to commit suicide in various ways.  I always felt sorry for his character, and wondered why he would waste such a unique gift – the chance to do things over until they came out right.

It reminds me of how so many people can fall into the trap of despair in regular life.  Some days, I too, fell like I am living the same day over and over – waking up, going to work, having dinner, watching television and going to bed.  But like Murray’s character — even though the calendar date may change, we have the chance to make our lives right and do things over.  Every time I watch that movie, it inspires me to try to live differently – and not hold off on those things that I want to accomplish in my life.

What would you do if you had the chance to live like Murray’s character?

 

Leave a Reply

