All-Star Lineup

When I heard the news that Pope John Paul II will be beatified in May, I couldn’t help but smile.  Being beatified is one step from being named a saint.  I like to think of a person obtaining sainthood status as the Catholic version of making it to the all-star team, or being named to a Catholic Hall of Fame.  The news that someone has been nominated, or has reached one step closer, to that prestigious status, makes me smile.

I don’t pretend to know all the particulars that go into naming someone a saint, but I do know that this is quite a big deal.  Oftentimes when I am on assignments – particularly at youth events – I am (happily) shocked and surprised by how many young people bring up their affection for Pope John Paul II.  For example, Pope John Paul’s “Theology of the Body,” his message on love and sexuality, was just one of the former pope’s teachings that people in their teens, 20s and 30s would talk to me about with passion at events around the area.

One of the reasons that I love my job is that I am introduced to so many different people who are willing to open up to me about their faith and beliefs.  I know it’s a difficult thing to do, and I appreciate it when people do share that part of their lives with me.  I know that I have learned much more about Pope John Paul II because of people I have met along the way, and I am now happy to be celebrating this news with them.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

One thought on “All-Star Lineup”

  1. Wonderfully written. I love visiting Halls of Fame, especially the baseball one in Cooperstown! Everyone there has proven themselves to be very good at what they wanted to be in life, and are such an inspiration. I wish I could visit a Catholic Hall of Fame, wander around and read their stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

