‘Voyage’ to the Movies

This weekend, the movie “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,” based on the third book in the Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  As an avid fan of Lewis, I am more than excited to see the next installment in this series.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the work of Lewis, an atheist who converted to Christianity, his Chronicles of Narnia series is full of Christian allegories. I first fell in love with his works as a child.  I still clearly remember the first time I picked up one of the books in the Narnia series when I was around 10 years old.  My best friend and I were cleaning out my parents’ garage one summer’s day in the hopes of converting it into a clubhouse for the neighborhood kids.  Tucked away in the back was a box full of random items – and among those items were three hardcover copies of the C.S. Lewis books. I had found a treasure.

At the time, I merely thought of the Narnia series as a fun story.  As I grew older, the real meaning of the stories became clearer and clearer. As a college student, I was able to spend a year studying in Oxford, and one of the many highlights of that year was the ability to eat lunch or pick up a drink at the same pub that Lewis frequented – The Eagle and Child.

I’m hoping that the movie is true to the book, and look forward to watching it and seeing with fresh eyes what I can take away from the story as an adult.  Are there any C.S. Lewis fans reading this blog?

 

One thought on “‘Voyage’ to the Movies”

Leave a Reply

