This Too Shall Pass

Right now, my husband and I are grieving for our cat, Freya, who died this week. Even though we have both suffered many losses in our lives – great and small – it doesn’t make the sorrow of death any less.  She was a member of our family and that position can never be replaced.  As hard as it is, I am trying to tell myself that this too shall pass.

Suffering and sadness often make it difficult to think of anything else.  Suddenly, daily things such as going to work, doing laundry and even getting out of bed seem like insurmountable tasks.  I realize that those without pets may think that I am being over-dramatic – but suffering in all its forms takes a toll on the human spirit.

There is a quote by C.S. Lewis about suffering that I’d like to share with any of you out there who may also be in pain: “We were promised sufferings. They were part of the program. We were even told, ”Blessed are they that mourn.’”  At first, this quote may not make much sense – how could we be blessed if we are in mourning? But when I think of my little cat, I know that I was blessed to have her in my life.

 

2 thoughts on “This Too Shall Pass”

Leave a Reply

