The Gift of Friendship

When we first were married, my husband bought me one of the greatest gifts of all – a small white kitten.  We are both animal lovers to begin with and wanted to add a member to our family.  Since my husband travels a lot, he also wanted me to have something to come home to when he is away on his trips.

This week, our cat had to be taken to the hospital and we found out that she had heart failure.  The prognosis is not good.  If we can take her home, she may only live for a short while longer.  I was completely devastated by the news.  The only thing that has helped me to get through this difficult time is the support of my friends.  There is a beautiful Bible quote about friendship – “A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter” (Sirach 6:14).

This week, as friends have called, emailed and texted me with their thoughts and prayers, I realized how true these words are.  As I felt my emotions storm inside of me, my friends have provided me with such a shelter.

Friendship is such a beautiful gift.

4 thoughts on “The Gift of Friendship”

  1. That quote from Sirach opens my new book on spiritual friendship (Walking Together: Discovering the Catholic Tradition of Spiritual Friendship). It’s actually the quote that sealed my decision to write the book, which is about the very thing you’re experiencing right now — the gift of friendship that carries us through the difficult times, celebrates with us during the happy times, and remains constant through the daily ins and outs of life. I’m glad you have friends like that!
    Peace,
    Mary

    Like

  2. You are so much stronger than you think you are.
    But when you do feel weakened, your friends will be there to support you.
    You can count on that.

    Like

  3. I know how you must be feeling, my cat passed away unexpectedly 3 years ago; she fell off our balcony. I was devastated. Her name was Sugar, I had her since I was a kid and I miss her. My heartfelt condolences and support go out to you and your kitty.

    Like

  4. I found this prayer for pets and thought I’d share:

    Heavenly Father,
    Please help us in our time of need,
    You have made us stewards of Freya.
    If it is Your will, please restore her
    to health and strength.
    I pray too for other animals in need.
    May they be treated with the care and respect
    deserving of all Your creations.
    Blessed are You Lord God,
    and holy is Your name for ever and ever
    – Basilica and Shrine of Our Lady of Consolation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

