Happy Halloween!

Are you ready for the weekend?  I’m looking forward to this weekend for two reasons – one is that it is Halloween and the other is that it has been a tough week at work and I’m ready for some relaxation.

I’ve always found Halloween to be a fascinating holiday – filled with a fantastic history, religion and mystery.  Even though I’m now in my 30s, I still enjoy dressing up and taking part in all the festivities of the day.  I believe that this is a trait handed down to me by my father who must have dressed up every year until he died.  Some of his now infamous costumes included being the Jolly Green Giant as well as Shamu the whale.

Growing up, the holiday was about more than dressing up.  Each year, we would visit our relatives to show off our costumes.  We’d visit aunts and uncles and cousins – stopping long enough to share some conversations and good memories at each house.  Even though we may not have gathered as much candy as other kids with all the family stops, the excitement of the day is something that I haven’t forgotten.

It’s a good lesson to have carried on.  Especially when you think of the true meaning of All Saints and All Souls Days.  It’s a time to celebrate the past and honor those who had died – saints and ordinary people alike.

Have a safe and fun Halloween, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

