Back to the Basics

I’m back to blogging after being sick and in bed for about a week.  It’s funny because there are many days when I wake up for work and think, “If only I could stay home and just rest all day.” But, after a few days of being confined to the house, those kinds of thoughts seemed oddly ironic.

However, there was one good thing about my “house-arrest.”  I got back to the basics of living.  Suddenly those looming work deadlines and outside obligations didn’t seem to be so pressing.  The only things that seemed worth getting out of bed for were for food, drinks and the occasional phone call.  Life can be overwhelming and sometimes it takes something like the flu or a really bad cold to knock us down to make us take a break.

I felt a little better on Sunday and was able to attend Mass, which I was happy about because the Gospel reading and homily made me think about getting back to one of the basics I learned years ago from religious education – that our faith life can always use some tender loving care. The Gospel featured Jesus’ parable about the tax collector and the Pharisee.  In the parable, the Pharisee praises himself and thanks God that he is “not like the rest of humanity.” The tax collector, on the other hand, says, “O God, be merciful to me a sinner.” The Gospel ends with Jesus saying, “whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”

I was glad that I heard the message when I was feeling worn down because it seemed to solidify for me that sometimes we all need to be knocked down – sometimes spiritually – so we can take some time and work on making ourselves better.

 

One thought on “Back to the Basics”

Leave a Reply

