Let’s Start a Rosary Revolution!

A few months back, I blogged about how I signed up to receive daily “Saint of the Day” emails in an effort to learn more about the Catholic faith. I’m happy to report that I still receive (and read!) those emails faithfully. Because of those emails I discovered that today is the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.

When I was younger, I was in the habit of saying the Rosary every night. The focusing of my mind on the words of the prayers was soothing and comforting and helped me to get through some difficult times. As I silently and secretly prayed the Rosary in the comforts of my bedroom, I felt a bit like a counter-cultural rebel. People like my mother and older relatives prayed the Rosary! Not young people.

Perhaps the idea that praying the Rosary was not something cool people did was one of the reasons I fell out of the habit. First, I didn’t pray it on any sort of regular basis until I forgot the practice altogether. There have been quite a few random times since then when I have caught people walking the streets of Manhattan or riding the commuter train home, praying the Rosary. The sight always shocks me – but in a good way.

I’m trying to get back into the practice of praying the Rosary. Do you pray the Rosary? If not, join me in starting our own little Rosary revolution!

Leave a Reply

