Faith the Size of a Mustard Seed

Do you ever have one of those experiences at church where you feel like the readings were placed there specifically to speak to you? This past weekend, I had that experience and it shook my soul, as if God were saying, “Listen!  I’m trying to tell you something!”

The Gospel reading I am talking about is the one where Jesus describes the parable of the mustard seed.  He tells his disciples, who want their faith increased, that they only need faith the size of a tiny mustard seed.  This parable baffled me when I was younger.  I thought that if I believed strongly enough, it would be as if I were gifted with magic powers to move mountains and command trees to uproot themselves and change locations.  That, of course, never happened.

But this weekend, as I thought more about the reading and how it relates to my life, I realized that perhaps Jesus was telling us that with a little bit of faith we can take on big projects in our lives – at work, at home, in our families – that may appear to be impossible.  I like the thought of that.  It helps me put things into perspective and serves as a spiritual check to see if I can do my daily tasks with faith in God.  I can also see it as a way to keep on track – can I honestly look at my goals and ambitions and ask if they would be pleasing to God?

Please share your thoughts on this parable!

Leave a Reply

