A Night of Healing

                Last night I went with my mother to a healing service at Most Holy Trinity in Yonkers.   The service was led by the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal.  To get people into the right frame of mind, the priest leading the service spoke a few words about healing.  He said one thing in particular that I wanted to share: sometimes we pray for what we want, but it may not necessarily be what we need. 

                He explained that God will give us what we need.  Those were powerful words.  Especially when you think of the particular crosses you carry in your own life.  I know for myself that there are so many days when I pray for God to lift particular burdens and struggles, not understanding why they are there, and wondering if I am strong enough to overcome them.  Even though I have heard this lesson time and time before, it never hurts to hear it again: God is good, and there are reasons for everything we deal with in life.  Even if at times we don’t understand what those reasons are.

                I’ve been to a few healing services, and do find that they are uplifting for the soul.  I remember the first healing service I attended – a general Christian service in England – and the experience was surreal.  There were hundreds and hundreds of people around.  People were sobbing and crying, lines and lines of people waited for a blessing.  I was in college at the time, and the experience was too much for me.  I felt embarrassed and literally wanted to run away.  Thankfully, God didn’t let me go.  Last night, I was reminded again that God is there, even if we are frightened and unsure of what to expect, just waiting to love and heal us.

One thought on “A Night of Healing”

Leave a Reply

