It’s Been Too Long

One of the greatest graces I have found in being Catholic is the gift of confession.  I’ve always enjoyed this particular sacrament.  Particularly, I look forward to the closeness you feel to God, the wiping clean of your soul, the healing and the way you can begin your life fresh again. All of those features make up for the extreme embarrassment that comes with confession.  However, it has been far too long since I’ve gone to confession.

I used to go to confession on a regular basis.  However, as with many things that come with faith and life, certain things kept me from keeping up with the practice.  It’s something that for a long time I have regretted.  Tonight, there is a parish mission at Most Holy Trinity in Yonkers, and I plan on attending to take advantage of the fact that confession will be available. I have to admit, I’m a bit nervous to get back into the confessional.  But I know that afterwards, I’ll appreciate the effort.

I once read a book, “The Untapped Power of the Sacrament of Penance “ by Father Christopher Walsh, who wrote, “The sacrament addresses the spiritual needs of both the repentant criminal and the saint, of the anonymous penitent in need of forgiveness and the devout parishioner seeking regular spiritual guidance and growth.” I try to remember that whenever I go to confession – that neither sinners nor saints are perfect and that it is there to help people wherever they are on their spiritual journey.

Leave a Reply

