Goodbye, Summer

The arrival of Labor Day weekend for many signifies the unofficial end of the summer season. Parents are sending children back to school, and the last of the summer vacation trips are being taken. I just returned from one such last hurrah – an excursion to Lake George with my sister and nephews.

There is something special about vacationing with family.  And there is nothing like seeing the excitement and joy of children as they explore a world outside of their ordinary daily lives.  That was true for me this week – where I saw my nephews even finding the simple revolving doors at the hotel to be a source of fascination.

After this weekend, I can truly understand why Jesus told his disciples that to enter the kingdom of heaven we should be like children.  Children have such a unique way of viewing the world with fresh eyes.  Of course, I’m not sure what heaven is like, but I could just imagine a disgruntled, bitter adult entering heaven and looking around with boredom and remarking, “yeah, I guess that’s nice.”

I know that I’m going to try to get back to that childlike wonder that I saw in my nephews, and hold on to it for as long as I can.

Have a safe and happy Labor Day weekend!

One thought on “Goodbye, Summer”

Leave a Reply

