‘You May Say I’m a Dreamer’

Sometimes I get so wrapped up in my own head that it’s hard to see when I fall into negative patterns.  This week, surprisingly through Facebook, my cousins made a comment on my habit of always looking forward to the future, without savoring the moment I am in right now.  To quote the Beatles, “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”  I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one who gets caught up in daydreams so much so that I let the present pass me by.

Especially now, in the “dog days” of summer, with everything seeming to slow down – both at work and at home – it’s hard to find focus for the everyday.  Basically, I find that life gets a little boring when there is nothing that has that “wow” factor in it.  In order to try to remain grounded in the day that lies ahead of me, I’m trying out a few things.

One of those things was to sign up for a “saint of the day” email through the American Catholic website (www.americancatholic.org).  You may be asking yourself how that could possibly help! Miracle stories, especially those in the lives of the saints, have that “wow” factor.  However, if you’re like me, you may have heard these stories so often, or feel that they are so outdated, that the inspiration we could find in them is lost. I’m trying to read these old stories with fresh eyes, and find ways to learn to incorporate those lessons into my daily life.  Sure, my mind may still wander, but I’m hoping that this simple daily reminder helps me find the wonder and miracle of each day.

Have a good Friday everyone!

One thought on “‘You May Say I’m a Dreamer’”

  1. Sometimes dreaming is the only thing that keeps us going. That and the courage to follow our faith and understand that everything, whether its bad or good, in our lives happens for a reason. Even in our darkest days when we may be too blind to understand that we are not being punished and we have to believe that our pain and suffering is meant to give us strength and help us see the true path that we are meant to travel in our lives to achieve what has been meant for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

