Moral Compass

After a friend of mine posted an article on Facebook about graffiti artists painting compasses outside of subway stations in Manhattan, I’ve been on the lookout for them.  So far, I’ve seen two.  You could say that I’m bad with directions – but that would be an understatement.  Sometimes I find myself even getting lost in Yonkers, my hometown, from places that should be second nature – like from my apartment to my mother’s house.  Needless to say, I think that the compass outside of the subway stops is an excellent idea!

Every time I emerge from the darkness of the subway to the light of the streets above, it takes me a moment to orient myself.  I could say the same is true for every decision that I’ve made in life.  After you make any decision, it takes a moment to learn to live with the consequences.  Could you imagine how lovely it would be if people had a similar compass pointing in the right direction, ensuring that we don’t go too far in the wrong one?

I really feel that my parents, my family and my Catholic education have provided me with a fairly good moral compass.  However, I am only human, and I know that every once in a while I have to recalibrate the compass, to make sure that what I think and what I am doing match with what is right.  Especially with the way things are in the world today, it’s so easy to find yourself with a skewed view of what to do.  Just look around at all the celebrities, movies and television shows, for example, that say the complete opposite of what we believe as Catholics.  It’s a rough world out there, and I for sure know that it’s easy to get lost.

What do you do, or who do you turn to, when you feel that you’re getting a bit lost?

2 thoughts on “Moral Compass”

  1. What a fascinating bit of grafitti.
    Is there an intended message or meaning behind the symbol?
    My favorite compass is Captain Jack Sparrow’s from The Pirates of the Caribbean:
    “My compass…is unique.”
    “Unique here having the meaning of broken?”
    “True enough, this compass does not point north.”
    “…Where does it point?”
    “It points to the thing you want most in this world.”

    We could all use a good compass and a couple of anchors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

