Stay Off the Grass

Walking home from the train, I pass a small park.  Today, as I was walking, the grass had just been cut.  I love the smell of freshly cut grass.  However, being allergic to grass, I can’t stop for very long or else my allergies will flare up.

With the weekend now here, my encounter with the grass reminded me of the many things in life that may seem appealing, but could make a person sick.  I’m not just talking about things we are allergic to, but the things that can make us spiritually sick.  In other words, sin.  Weekends, especially, are a time when young adults are likely to encounter situations that may seduce our senses into occasions of sin.  These things, like extreme drinking, or random hook ups, or even small lies, just to name a few, may seem appealing at first.   But if we choose to indulge in them, they can make us spiritually ill. 

As I go into this weekend, I’m going to try my best to keep myself free from sickness and sin.  I know it’s hard, especially when at first glance, those things may be calling, but in the long run, I know it will be for the best.  In other words, I’m going to try to stay off the metaphorical grass. 

Be safe, everyone, and have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

