No Rest for the Weary

Sometimes I think that the school schedule that we’ve all grown up in with summers off has programmed us to want to slow down in those months. Years and years of lazy summer days will do that to a person. For those of us who still have to work, however, especially on busy days with many deadlines to meet, we have to just settle for looking back on those glorious days of summer, and hope that no one catches us in our daydreams.

I tend to think that God is also a fan of the summer.  Just imagine all the prayers of thanksgiving that are said by countless school children and teachers around the world as summer comes around!  In all seriousness, however, there are those lazy summer days where it is hard to find the needed energy to work.  For me, today is one of those days with the humid, rainy summer weather beckoning me to take it easy.  Many of my colleagues know that on days like today I like to joke about sneaking under my desk, like the famous Seinfeld scene with George Costanza, to take a mid-day nap.

I like to face days like today with two things – lots and lots of coffee and the determination to give each day all I have.  In Ecclesiastes, it says, “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might” (9:10).  I like the sound of that.

Leave a Reply

