A Noteworthy Marriage Resource

Sometimes marriage can be difficult.  Looking back over my own, there were quite a few moments when I thought “nobody told me about this.” Of course, learning to live with and love another person will have its fair share of ups and downs. Sadly, some marriages suffer so much that one or both partners may not know what to do.

I was reading an article today that stated there is a handy little pamphlet available to help those couples whose marriages may be in trouble. The free pamphlet “Hope for Troubled Marriages” is produced by the Catholic organization The Christophers, Inc. and addresses four types of marriage problems: criticism, contempt, defensiveness and stonewalling. If you’d like to check it out, visit their website http://www.christophers.org and click on their News Notes section.

As part of a book club that I am in, I recently read Manalive by G.K. Chesterton. (As a side-note, this was my first experience reading Chesterton and I found him to have a very unique, very old-world type of writing style that for me was a bit difficult to get into.) He did have so many quote-able sentences, however, such as this one on marriage, which I thought was fitting: “Marriage is a duel to the death which no man of honour should decline.”

Happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

