Happy Fathers Day!

Greetings readers!  Don’t forget that this Sunday is Fathers Day!  The weather this weekend is supposed to be gorgeous – perfect for outdoor family get-togethers and barbecues to celebrate the fathers and father-figures in our lives, and remember them, in a special way.

At this stage in life, I see so many of my friends and relatives becoming first-time parents; and yet, at the other end of the spectrum, many of us are also learning to live with the loss of a parent. For many, Fathers Day is a bittersweet time. Having lost my father, it definitely is for me, but this weekend, I hope to spend some time celebrating the wonderful life he lived.

I’d like to share some of his stories, and invite you to share your own stories about the special men in your lives, too.  My dad, most of all, was a character, and my sister’s wedding – when he surprisingly came out for the father-daughter dance dressed in a professional-grade Winnie the Pooh outfit in honor of her favorite childhood character – is a prime example. And with July right around the corner, I am reminded of one July 25 when my dad dragged our artificial Christmas tree, decorations and lights into the backyard, all the while blaring Christmas music, to the odd wonderment of our neighbors.

Enjoy the weekend, and Happy Fathers Day!!!

2 thoughts on “Happy Fathers Day!”

Leave a Reply

