Self-Perception

I recently read an article that explained how in many cases people perceive themselves differently than how they really look. For instance, people may perceive themselves to be shorter and wider than they are.  And for all these years, I thought the numbers on my clothes were the ones that were telling me how short and wide I am!

But in all seriousness, it made me think about how we perceive ourselves spiritually. I know that with me, at least, I bet I think I’m on the right track spiritually much more than I actually am.  I find when it comes to questions of morality and religion, it becomes very easy to make excuses for things that I know I should do but don’t.  It’s not good and I’m not proud of it.  I know it is something I have to work on.  For example, if I miss Sunday Mass I lie to myself and say it’s okay because I work so hard during the week and deserve the time to sleep in. And I’ve found that if done enough, the lies we tell ourselves become easier and easier to believe.

While we may be able to hide our imperfections with clothing, it doesn’t quite work the same with our soul.

Leave a Reply

